Salt Lake City, UT

Centered City Yoga.

A must-practice place when in town.

“And since you know you cannot see yourself,
So well as by reflection, I, your glass,
Will modestly discover to yourself,
That of yourself which you yet know not of”
William Shakespeare

I love how practicing in new spaces can make you more present. I’m used to practicing in a room where you see yourself in mirrors instead of just feeling yourself in the movement, in the music and seeing yourself through the breath. There’s nothing wrong with the visual as alignment is important but sometimes it’s easy to get stuck in your own head and compare yourself with others or a past self. Without the mirrors, I was invited to close my eyes because there was nothing to see.

Praciticing at Centered City Yoga, I felt like I was back at home in Michigan even though I was in a room full of strangers. The energy was high and inviting. The reminders and cues were helpful both as a student and a teacher wanting to learn, hungry to take this information back as a souvenir with me to Colorado.

Sometimes when practicing in a new space, it’s easy to get caught up and compare it to the daily practice you are used to. A lot of times when I notice I’m not digging a teacher or class, it’s not because of them – it’s because of me and my perspective of expectations. And not when I travel, I know that each class, each teacher, has something to offer me in my own practice and in my teaching.

The Core class by D’ana Baptiste was without a doubt an amazing hour and 15 minute treat. It wasn’t a typical flow class – we focused on the core and I don’t think I’ve ever done so many dolphin poses in my life. It was on Sunday and I’m still very aware of my core. She provided a deeper understanding of utilizing yoga blocks.

When you are traveling, what studios do you enjoy for your practice away from home?

This entry was posted in Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

