Trust 30: Fifteen Minutes to Live

I keep saying I want to write … I need to write … and then this 30-day challenge shows up. Of course it’s during a time in which I probably shouldn’t commit to ANYthing else … but since I can’t help myself, here it goes!

Today’s prompt is from author Gwen Bell, and below is my response.

We are afraid of truth, afraid of fortune, afraid of death, and afraid of each other. Our age yields no great and perfect persons. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.
1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.
2. Write the story that has to be written.

If I only had 15 minutes to live, all of these decisions I think I have to make wouldn’t matter. The plan for the future and consideration for what’s best for me, for the work I’ve done, wouldn’t even play a role. I’d do what I do without thinking. I’d pick up my phone and dial my mother. I’d sit probably sit there cradling the phone and cry, wondering why I live so far away.

And now this reflection couldn’t come at a better time when life appears to be up in the air and I can smell change coming. Moving to a new place in a town I’m still not sure I even like, struggling with the idea of what I thought my future plans were, wanting to do it all NOW and realizing there just isn’t enough time. In the moments that I can only imagine what it would feel like to know there were only 15 minutes left, I feel frozen, wondering where did the love go?

If there were 15 minutes left and I was exactly where I am now, I’d still call home. I’d turn on some Jason Mraz and hug anyone that walked in my path. I’d write a couple of notes to those closest to my heart in hopes of them finding their way to them and feeling loved. I’d be outside, playing around with a handstand or some other yoga pose while feeling the sun kiss my skin. I’d have a glass of chocolate milk.

It really comes down to the simple pleasures and the feeling of love and knowing that 15 minutes wouldn’t be enough. And the power of thinking of how you would make those big decisions if you knew you only had 15 minutes and how much bigger you may dream for your ‘I wants’ and how much more you would love.

Anything & Everything is Possible.      

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

