Trust30 Day 3: Beliefs

“It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

My beliefs:

I believe in yoga. Not just in the idea of it, the physical superficial benefits, but the ones I notice when I step away from the mat for a few days. I believe I need yoga everyday. I need it to remind me to breathe, to balance my mind, my body and nurture my connection to my Self. I need it to comfort me in the unconditional way sometimes only the mat can: opening this safe and supported space to just be, whether it’s pushing strong through challenging poses or it’s surrendering in child’s pose, sending breath to my hips and trying to let go, let go of the thoughts, emotions and ideas of where I’m supposed to be, who I’m supposed to be.

My family does not believe in yoga, not like I do. They don’t understand the need to practice. I have friends with this same belief and see many of them each time I hit the mat. It no longer bothers me that my family doesn’t understand my passion for this daily practice because it’s not about them.

I believe the universe provides what you need, what you are ready for even if you don’t know that you are (just yet). So when they are ready, I’ll be waiting to share my belief, my passion.

I actively live this belief by coming to the mat even when I might not feel like it, by teaching others, and by teaching others I remind myself the same lessons I need to learn.

Namaste ❤

This entry was posted in Trust30, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

