Trust30: Day 6 – Come Alive

Life wastes itself while we are preparing to live. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? In what areas of your life are you preparing to live? Take them off your To Do list and add them to a To Stop list. Resolve to only do what makes you come alive.

Bonus: How can your goals improve the present and not keep you in a perpetual “always something better” spiral?

(Author: Jonathan Mead)

I’ve been thinking about this so much lately, hence, the upcoming change in job. If I truly knew that I had one week to live as much as Colorado is beautiful, it’s still not home. It doesn’t have family. It has some close friends but with how busy everyone is, it’s not all that often that I get to spend quality time with them.

I would say that I’m preparing to live in all areas of my life, especially with the upcoming week:

BootCamp starts today and will be a chance to inspire others to create healthy workout/eating habits.

Moving to a new place should allow for better sleep, closer commute to work and a chance to use my hammock 🙂

Changing jobs will keep me moving forward in my career path, allow me to write more consistently and accomplish a goal I’ve had since I left the internship 11 years ago.

I let go of the yoga program at the Rec Center so I could have time to do the things that I want to do, to create space in my life for friends and for love.

I think my goals can help improve the present because they are constant and evolving. Life can always be better but mostly it’s a matter of perspective in the present moment – something I need to remind myself of daily.  For me, the creation of visionboards helps create that plan for the year or whatever period of time you want certain things to be your focus. (example vision board below)

Next goal – instead of preparing to live, just do it … life is happening now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

