Trust30: Day 8 – Afraid to Do

The other terror that scares us from self-trust is our consistency; a reverence for our past act or word, because the eyes of others have no other data for computing our orbit than our past acts, and we are loath to disappoint them. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Emerson says: “Always do what you are afraid to do.” What is ‘too scary’ to write about? Try doing it now.

(Author: Mary Jaksch)

Continue to choose the pain of discipline over the pain of regret.

This was said at the banquet tonight and is stuck in my mind. I am afraid of change but I think more than anything I am afraid of regret. I’m human, I’ve made more mistakes than I’d like to admit but it’s all about moving forward and working towards that version of me that I want to be.

And with that, it scares me to make these life-altering decisions where I’m deciding to change my career path once again, following in the footsteps of a succcesful woman and friend. I’m afraid of not living up to the expectations and also falling into the trap of not living for myself but for the job and losing the passion that got me here in the first place.

I’m afraid of being vulnerable and handing my heart over to another in fear of it not working out.

But mostly, I’m afraid of losing hope that each day will be better than the next.

So don’t forget to continue to choose the pain of discipline over the pain of regret.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

