Trust30: Day 11 – Fear

These are the voices which we hear in solitude, but they grow faint and inaudible as we enter into the world. Society everywhere is in conspiracy against the manhood of every one of its members. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed? Put yourself in the shoes of the you who’s already lived your dream and write out the answers to the following:

Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?

Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?

Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?

Now Do. The Thing. You Fear.

(Author: Lachlan Cotter)

Fear is something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. And it’s being afraid of the unknown and uncomfortable with the ‘haven’t been through it’ befores. Or the wanting to avoid some of the been theres. But that’s how you grow.

Too much time is wasted on worrying about the future verse just living in the NOW. I’m guilty of it. I’m in my own way and all I have are excuses. These excuses and insecurities aren’t worth it. These stories I’m telling myself come and go.

And when it comes to love, I feel completely lost. There are excuses: I’m too busy. I don’t live in an city where I am meeting the type of person I would want to be with. The whole thing is exhausting and seems to be this roller coaster ride that seems exciting but is over much too soon. I’m frustrated with myself that somehow then after realizing the interest, I tend to wrap up my worth into the whole damn thing. And then everything comes crashing down. So the walls build higher and leaving me further away from the life I imagine.

The one thing fear has taught me is to not hold still and live in it. To keep working to move forward. To make the changes necessary. To let go of the excuses.

 

This entry was posted in Trust30. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

