Trust30: Day 18 – Facing (and Fearing)

Greatness appeals to the future. If I can be firm enough to-day to do right, and scorn eyes, I must have done so much right before as to defend me now. Be it how it will, do right now. Always scorn appearances, and you always may. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Trusting intuition and making decisions based on it is the most important activity of the creative artist and entrepreneur. If you are facing (and fearing) a difficult life decision, ask yourself these three questions:

1) “What are the costs of inaction?” I find it can be helpful to fight fear with fear. Fears of acting are easily and immediately articulated by our “lizard brains” (thanks Seth) e.g. what if I fail? what if I look stupid? If you systematically and clearly list the main costs of inaction, they will generally overshadow your immediate fears.

2) “What kind of person do I want to be?” I’ve found this question to be extremely useful. I admire people who act bravely and decisively. I know the only way to join their ranks is to face decisions that scare me. By seeing my actions as a path to becoming something I admire, I am more likely to act and make the tough calls.

3) “In the event of failure, could I generate an alterative positive outcome?” Imagine yourself failing to an extreme. What could you learn or do in that situation to make it a positive experience? We are generally so committed to the results we seek at the outset of a task or project that we forget about all the incredible value and experience that comes from engaging the world proactively, learning, and improving our circumstances as we go along.

(Author: Dan Andrews)

What a great reminder especially considering the inaction I have taken when it’s come to writing the last three days. Instead, I’ve taken some time to reflect, get back into my practice, back into my own head with a couple of meditation classes. I don’t know if it’s all the changes or the resistance I am finding myself in being in the Springs, but I’m having a hard time being me.

BootCamp ended on Saturday and while it’s one less thing to worry about, it helped add additional structure to my life. With plans falling through, I felt completely lost this weekend. Add on the entire family is up north enjoying some vacation, and I’m bumming that I’m stuck here. I choose to be here but I haven’t been doing anything to make it any better. So what do I do when I don’t know what to do? I return to the mat.

Saturday’s class had me in my head. Man, it’s been too long. Is he seriously going to have us hold this longer? Are we done yet? Breathe, breath were are you? Can the humidity be any higher? I was not connecting – I was just powering through.

After a failed hot air balloon ride on Sunday, I returned to the studio. I wanted to do another round of class followed by meditation. Class felt more natural but meditation did not. We chanted. It was weird. It was uncomfortable. It was beautiful. Then the emotions hit me.

This was what we chanted:

Om gam ganapataye namaha!
 
A very loose translation might be:
Om = Salutations! Everyone wake up!
Gam = The secret power sound of Ganesh. It is his “seed syllable” or bija mantra.
Ganapataye = Another name of Ganesh, the breaker of obstacles.
Namaha = Yo! Ganesh! You da God!
 
The pronunciation is also pretty easy:
Om = ohm or aum
Gam = Somewhere between “gahm” and “gum”. In some dialects it is “guhng”.
Ganapataye = gah-nah-paht-ah-yeh
Namaha – nah-mah-hah
 
Basically the intention Holly shared was to let go of obstacles so you can make room for abundance.
 
Give it a try.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

