Change it Up

I’m afraid to change.

And yet I’m more anxious of things staying the same. In the midst of change, it’s sometimes hard to see that you have to give up something good in order to get something even better.

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.” – Tony Robbins.

In order to live our dreams, we’ve got to make some changes.

So I’m saying farewell to sunny Colorado and making the 1,350 mile road trip back to my hometown of Detroit. It was always my dream to live in Colorado and work for USA Hockey.  After three years in the Springs and working with some pretty incredible people, becoming a yoga instructor and and life coach, I’ve realized that dreams can change – and that can be scary, too.

But it’s the questions we ask ourselves in this moment that help us move forward and embrace those changes instead of being paralyzed by them.

Daydream with me for a minute. Where would you be, who would you be with and what would you be doing?

Now, ask yourself about a dream you hold that is so big you may be afraid to say it out loud?  Think about something you’ve always wanted to do but have to wait to do because of a circumstance?

Got it? Good.

Take your dream and notice when you choose your dream, what are you saying yes to?

For me, taking the new job meant I was saying yes to furthering my career, moving closer to my family and old friends and to continuing my work as a life coach.

Now, notice when you choose your dream, what are you saying no to?

By choosing the move, I was saying no to the feeling of putting my life on hold and to not living up to my potential.

Maybe your answers include saying yes to honoring your values, setting boundaries, creativity, connection or love. Or you could be saying no to fear, to staying stuck or feeling undervalued. The list can be endless.

What’s that little voice at the bottom of your throat trying to tell you?

Is it time to make a change?

Courtney Welch is in the midst of change, transitioning from manger of communications and social media for USA Hockey to manager of social media and communications for FOX Sports Detroit. She is a certified yoga instructor. She is pursuing her life coaching certification through CTI and would love to offer you a sample coaching session. Follow her on Twitter @CourtneyLWelch. Message her at Courtney@inspiredbymovement.com for a sample coaching session.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

