Gone … But Not Forgotten

Two weeks ago I got in my car and started driving east.
 
I wasn’t looking in the rearview mirror because there was so much to look forward to … I was driving towards my family, a new opportunity, the water and a large hazelnut coffee with one cream and one sugar from Tim Hortons.
 
It’s really the little things. The simple things. And I couldn’t be reminded of it more as I look at every photo and read every story regarding the Waldo Canyon Fire.
 
My heart breaks for friends that had to evacuate their homes in the middle of the night, the beauty that is being burned, the firefighters trying to contain it and everyone affected by the smoke. Colorado Springs was my home for over three years at two different times in my life. And besides the yoga community, my favorite thing about the Springs was the incredible trails like Waldo Canyon.

After reading this article, I wonder if many will get to experience the beauty of Waldo Canyon in the near future.

First hike through Waldo Canyon in 2009.

The beauty and close location made for a quick getaway from the noise of the city.

The one thing that doesn’t surprise me is the way this community has responded, opening its doors and pulling together to help however they can. 

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” Margaret Meed
 
Be safe, Colorado Springs. Keep looking forward.
 

The view from Waldo Canyon before the fire.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

