Feelin’ the Pressure

“The only pressure I’m under is the pressure I’ve put on myself.”
~ Mark Messier 

I can feel the weight of the world on my shoulders, slowly rounding over to protect myself from my expectations.

The list is building and it’s become a bit overwhelming.

  • New job
  • Trying to find a place to live
  • Coaching certification requirements
  • Searching for a new yoga studio to call home to practice, to teach
  • Reconnecting with old friends
  • Being open about finding someone to share my life with
  • Making time to workout in order to deal with all of the above 

You know — my life.

And what I notice is that the only one putting pressure on me … is me.

I’ve been listening to Awaken the Giant Within By Tony Robbins. He talks about procrastination being pain postponed and the emotional connections we have with pain cause us to stay where we are or to change. It’s all about what we perceive to be more painful. Everything we do is either to avoid pain or gain pleasure. And the decisions we make have a lot to do with that perception.

Last week while I was feeling the pressure, I emailed my friend Amy as I tend to do and she asked me a question that stopped me in my tracks.

What are you going to do to cut yourself some slack?

In those moments of dealing with my own expectation, I didn’t even think of giving myself the permission to scale it back, to not try to do it all perfectly. Instead, my thoughts ran to a vacation destination with endless beaches.

The question what are you going to do to cut yourself some slack made me pause. Instead of expecting myself to be all things all the time, I could just focus on one thing – the most important thing right now

I tend to multi-task a lot, adding to my already packed schedule, thinking about being productive and filling up the time all while knowing it’s not how much you do but what what you do means to you and your goals.

“The chief cause of failure and unhappiness is trading what you want most for what you want right now.”Zig Ziglar 

To start cutting myself some slack, I’m not going to focus on it all right now, just the most important thing. 

 What are you going to do to cut yourself some slack?  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

