The Power of Asking

“A man may fulfill the object of his existence by asking a question he cannot answer, and attempting a task he cannot achieve.”
-Oliver Wendell Holmes

Why is it so hard to ask for help?

If you haven’t watched this Ted video, it’s a good reminder of trusting the universe and the power of asking for help. Amanda Palmer talks about asking without shame.

I love this concept of asking without shame because it’s uncomfortable. Not only does Amanda ask without shame, she trusts that living her purpose will provide. She showed up and allowed herself to be seen while creating some of the most beautiful connections with perfect strangers. There’s something romantic about such a vulnerable exchange without words.

There are many careers and roles that allow people to connect and truly see one another, but this is one reason why I appreciate coaching so much. As a coach, I get to show up and SEE my clients even if I am only on the phone with them. I get to support them when they stretch beyond their comfort zone. I get to share what I’m hearing them say, what I’m noticing and not being afraid to tell the truth even if it’s not something they want to hear.

I believe in it so much that I offer sample strategy sessions. You can message me at courtney@inspiredbymovement.com or schedule it at http://www.inspiredbymovement.com.

Witnessing that vulnerability, when we truly see each other, makes us want to help. It creates connection, community. It allows us to create something bigger than ourselves.

I see you. I see the hope, those dreams, the beauty in your eyes, the strength. It’s all there. All you have to do is ask.

Aside | This entry was posted in Life Coaching, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

