Living into Your Future

“I want to be an interior designer.” 

During a summer celebration with the Boys & Girls Club in Detroit, I had a conversation with a young girl who was talking about her goals and dreams of going to college in New York in order to be an interior designer. It truly is programs like these that have kids live into their future – to push past what’s expected and journey to the path less traveled.

It is so easy to get caught up in my own life, to get frustrated by the details because things aren’t progressing on my timeline, looking the way I thought they would or feeling the way I hoped. Then I spend an afternoon with these incredible kids who remind me how perfect life is and to appreciate the future we all can invent to live into.

When you have that future – the goal or event you are looking forward to – it’s easier to step into that version of yourself that makes it your reality. You become the person necessary to make those dreams come true. You take on the actions of someone who accomplishes those goals. And before you know it, you are creating another future to live into – something even bigger than the last one.

Today I am living into a future where I am fully supported by Inspired By Movement, teaching yoga, holding coaching sessions, leading workshops and hosting retreats. I am doing most of this now and it truly fulfills me. This future invites the right people into my life and plenty of adventures near and far. It leans more into a future that looks like this:

“A person who is master in the art living makes little distinction between their work and their play, their labor and their leisure, their mind and their body, their education and their recreation, their love and religion. They hardly know which is which and simply pursue their vision of excellence and grace, whatever they do, leaving others to decide whether they are working or playing. To them they are always doing both.”
– Lawrence Pearsall Jacks

One of the young girls who inspired me to live into my future today.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

