Leave No Doubt

“As busy as we are, we can’t become too busy to live.” – Mike Babcock in Leave No Doubt: A Credo for Chasing Your Dreams

The first time I read that, I stopped and had to read it again… “As busy as we are, we can’t become too busy to live.”

Yes, everyday we have breath, we are alive … but are we really living?

Some days I’d answer that yes and other days no.

As I continue to build my dream, it’s easy to get swept up in the what ifs … if I trade the time I could go out and do something fun for this structure of working on my dream, then I’ll be closer and before you know it (heck, before I know it), I’m going through the motions. This will happen once I do this … and this … and this. What about now?

I spent 10 months of last year in a leadership program and we worked really hard on taking a deeper look at our lives and becoming responsible for the way we experience our worlds. Part of me when I signed up for that, thought this will be the key piece in taking the next steps. I’m reminded every day that it’s helped and even when you get there, it’s still a work in progress.

So reading Mike Babcock’s book Leave No Doubt: A Credo for Chasing Your Dreams was another layer to the learning and reflection with his question: If you are not making a difference, what are you making?

I know I want to make a difference, and I try to do that everyday. The difference I want to make is to lead by example. To inspire movement, love and courage to allow my dreams to bring out my best and help others do the same.

And like Babcock said, “It’s important to remember that potential is a moving target. You have to keep evaluating what your potential is.”

“Be all in to what you are doing, when you are doing it”

“Be in the moment, whatever that moment is.”

I love it because both hockey and yoga are two of my biggest passions and it really does come down to some simple principles of being present and choosing to enjoy where you are at while you are there.

So, what difference do you want to make?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

