Collateral Beauty

Love. Time. Death. These three abstractions connect every single human being on earth. Everything that we covet, everything we fear not having, everything we ultimately end up buying. Because at the end of the day, we long for love, we wish we had more time and we fear death. Love. Time. Death. — Collateral Beauty

img_3458

2016 was a lot of things but the thing I will remember most about the last year was losing my brother Christopher. I’ll also remember the extra time and love we shared in the last year of me living at home while trying to find my new home. Love. Time. Death.

For the past couple months, I’ve sat with grief, worked through some of it through therapy, cooking and being outside in nature. Many moments, I tried to push it away. So when I saw the trailer for Collateral Beauty, I couldn’t wait to see it. It seemed up-lifting and maybe represented some of the feelings I wasn’t sharing or didn’t want to feel.

When I woke up this morning, I decided today was as good a day as any to go see it. Start the year with a positive message. The reviews on this movie are not kind. Yet after dealing with grief myself, I wasn’t disappointed. It was entertaining, I connected with the feelings and while I miss the past and already miss moments that haven’t happened yet because my brother won’t physically be there – I don’t have to miss the meaning and beauty that is here. The collateral beauty so to speak.

Just make sure you notice the collateral beauty.

This is my project this year. To document and share the beauty I see in these everyday moments. I hope they touch and inspire you to see the beauty in your life ❤

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

