Days 23-31: Whole30

Day 23: One day of not writing led to quite a few so playing some catch up.

Breakfast: Egg scramble with apple chicken sausage, asparagus and avocado.

Lunch: Lunch at Seva and to stay compliant, I didn’t follow the plan for protein but enjoyed some solid veggies – steamed broccoli, roasted root vegetables and brussels sprouts.

Dinner: Chicken, Apple & Avocado salad with roasted plantains

Day 24: 

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs & avocado

Lunch: Made lettuce wraps with the Chicken, Apple, Avocado Salad

Dinner: Made up nachos. Seasoned ground beef with avocado, pico de gallo and roasted plantains.

Day 25: I was under the weather and didn’t have much of an appetite.

Day 26:

Breakfast: I made Sweet Potato toast with avocado and eggs over easy.

Lunch: I had leftover nachos with roasted plantains, ground beef, pico de gallo and guacamole.

Dinner: Roasted up some butternut squash and eggs over easy.

Day 27:

Breakfast: I made the Skinnytaste recipe for spiralized sweet potato latkes with avocado and eggs. This recipe was so good.

Lunch: I was busy helping prep for my cousin’s shower that I didn’t eat a true meal – just grabbed an RX bar.

Dinner: Made what I had in my fridge work – roasted sweet potatoes with avocado and a slice of apple chicken sausage with roasted brussels sprouts and bacon. d

Day 28:

Breakfast: Simple breakfast – scrambled eggs, butternut squash and blueberries.

Lunch: I wasn’t sure about my lunch. I brought it to my cousin’s baby shower where we served all this yummy comfort breakfast type food that I helped make the day before – especially all the desserts. I am surprised by how my taste buds have changed.

Dinner: I made the Salmon Cakes recipe that is in the book It Starts with Food.

Day 29:

Breakfast: Made egg muffins with asparagus, broccoli and onion and some roasted sweet potatoes.

Lunch: Ate out and the only thing on the menu that could work was the Strawberry Chicken salad. I requested that my chicken not be cooked in anything and with the oranges, I didn’t use any dressing. It tasted good, just was still hungry after I ate.

Dinner: Leftover salmon cakes with cabbage and cauliflower rice with avocado.

Day 30

Breakfast: Ate the same breakfast as the Made egg muffins with asparagus, broccoli and onion and some roasted sweet potatoes (same pic).

Lunch: Made up cauliflower rice with brussels sprouts and topped it with a burger, avocado, pico de gallo and guacamole.

Dinner: Ended up with roasted plantains and avocado. I stopped at Whole Foods with the intention of grabbing something compliant from the hot buffet but this location seemed to be out of pretty much everything.

 

I made it! I’m not quite sure of the full impact just yet. It has me thinking a lot about how I view food and in some ways this program showed me how much sugar is in pretty much everything that I’ve previously eaten. In some ways, this became something to control. And I am noticing that I am still not drinking enough water. I think that would help even more based on one of the main reasons I wanted to try this was to see if this way of eating changed how much inflammation I had.

Day 1 of Reintroduction: Legumes:

Today I wasn’t sure what I would reintroduce. I haven’t eaten peanut butter much since I tried almond butter and cashew butter. So I stayed compliant for breakfast and lunch.

Breakfast: Butternut squash noodles with a couple of eggs over easy.

Lunch: Work brought in Buddy’s pizza and salad. It’s interesting noticing how much people bond over eating the same foods and how when I anticipate that I’m not eating what everyone else is eating that my food won’t taste as good — and it has been the exact opposite. I decided to grab some of the lettuce and squeezed lemon over it and heated up my burger and added guacamole and some roasted plantains. It helps  me to keep reminding myself why I’m doing this.

Dinner: I debated on what to do for dinner. I knew I would get home late and decided I wanted to try something so I picked up Chipotle on the way home – a salad with carnitas, black beans, salsa and guac. I do feel more bloated and I’m not sure if that’s the black beans, feeling dehydrated, how salty the dish seemed, or a combination of it all.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment